The Wimbledon Tennis Tournament will start a week later than usual (June 29th – July 12th) to allow players a three-week rest period following the French Open and the promise of warm dry weather at Wimbledon.

Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and also one of the oldest sports betting opportunities. The competition site, The All England Club was formed in1868 with the first men’s championships played in 1877 and the ladies in 1884.

Tennis was part of the Olympics from 1896 but was dropped in 1924, to be reintroduced by the official Olympics committee in 1988.

The 2014 Wimbledon winners were:

Mens: Novak Djokovic – Serbia

Ladies: Petra Kvitova – Czech Republic

The current highest-ranking players are:

1. Novak Djokovic  – Serbia

2. Roger Federer- Switzerland

3. Andy Murray -Great Britain

4. Rafael Nadal – Spain

5. Kei Nishikori – Japan

6. Milos Raonic – Canada

7. Stan Wawrinka -Switzerland

8. Tomas Berdych – Czech Republic

9. David Ferrer – Spain

10. Grigor Dimitrov – Bulgaria


1. Serena Williams – United States

2. Maria Sharapova – Russia

3. Simona Halep – Romania

4. Petra Kvitova – Czech Republic

5. Caroline Wozniacki – Denmark

6. Ana Ivanovic – Serbia

7. Eugenie Bouchard – Canada

8. Agnieszka Radwanska – Poland

9. Ekaterina Makarova – Russia

10. Andrea Petkovic – Germany

Some of the larger tournaments taking place from March onwards are:

BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells, USA

Miami Open, Miami. USA

Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters, Monaco

Matua  Madrid Open, Spain

Internazioli BNL D’Italia, Rome. Italy.

Prize Money for Wimbledon 2014 totalled £25,000,000 with both the men’s and ladies champion each taking home £1,760,000 (and runners up £880,000).

The prize money for the men’s and ladies winners was equalised in 2007 after campaigns by female players. 

The Wimbledon festival is almost as famous for its strawberry cream teas, Champagne and Pimm’s as it is for the tennis; both proclaiming that the Great British Summer has arrived!